Posted: April 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

Although I do believe tat the US has an obligation to stop genocide and other mass murders, I do think we have way overused “presumptive military actions”. To many of the decisions to go to war are made by people who have not been to war. This is a serious flaw in our system.

ELMFund

This stupid foot surgery kept me out of the loop on ANOTHER scandal. Apparently, some pictures surfaced of US (and Afghan) Soldiers posing with enemy corpses. Not too long ago we saw video of Marines’ urinating on enemy corpses.

Another story came out which was much more positive. Former Corporal Megan Leavey was reunited with her war dog, former Marine Sergeant Rex. This is a truly inspiring story which I don’t want to cover here because this post is not about fun, but you should read it when you need a boost.

But even that positive story carries a dark undertone. Rex spent 10 years on active duty, inspired a book, and would have been killed upon retirement if he could not have been “untrained” as a war dog. Even then, without congressional interference, he would have been killed.

You’ll note I don’t say put down. This post is…

View original post 555 more words

Comments
  1. Terry says:

    I agree with you about presumptive military actions. I don’t mind that civilians decide when we go to war, or even that non-veterans do so. My problem is that they don’t seem to keep in mind the horrors of war when they do make that call.

    I would like them to have to make the vote to go to war from Bethesda Naval Hospital or the VA hospital. To have to stand up among amputees, PTSD survivors, brain-damaged or burn victim veterans and say, “Yes, this cause is worth this cost.” I am not ready to be a pacifist, I just want to deserve the sacrifice of my fellow citizens.

    Semper Fi.

  2. DJ says:

    I like what you have to say here Terry! Thanks from a Vet!

Leave a Reply

