Chick-fil-A

Posted: August 3, 2012 in Current Events
Tags: , , , , ,

About 98% of the people are missing the point on Chik-fil-A. IT IS NOT A FREE SPEECH ISSUE. The founder/CEO can have his medieval opinions and say what he wants. It is not about religion (unless your religion allows for the killing of people they do not like). It is about murder and torture.

Chik fil-A donated FIVE MILLION DOLLARS to two groups. One group is the spearhead behind the kill the gays bill in Uganda and several other African Nations which would obligate the government to KILL homosexuals and other sexual minorities within their borders. The other group funds the Gay Reparative Therapy programs. The program that uses physical pain in an attempt to make gays straight. A program that the American Psychological Association has rejected as without merit. A program whose left citing its’ total lack of success. A program that leaves physical and mental scars that last a lifetime.

If you want to eat at Chic Fil-A do it. Just remember a few cents from every sandwich goes to support efforts to kill and torture me and people like me around the world. If you are ok with that then clearly you don’t give a crap about me.

A friend had the perfect response.

It was a poem by an anti nazi activist Martin Niemöller that explains eloquently the need for people to stand up and say NO, that’s not right.

First they came for the communists,
and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a communist.
Then they came for the trade unionists,
and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a trade unionist.
Then they came for the Jews,
and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a Jew.
Then they came for me
and there was no one left to speak out for me

Leave a Reply

