This morning was my weekly head shrinking. One of my greatest fears is becoming addicted to therapy. How do I know when I am all-better, cured. I’m happier. There is no doubt about that. More stable but how do I know when my mood disorder is over? Thoughts? I am in a better mood.

My therapist relayed a story from when he was in school and was told by a professor that they were not allowed to judge anyone for any reason. My thought becomes that if we as a society do not point out unacceptable behavior. I am a much bigger believer now in the “social contract”. I believe as a society we have let too many people off the hook for their actions whether it be obesity or living off the government dole on manufactured disabilities. Unless people are held accountable for their actions this kind of behavior will continue. My therapist calls this being judgmental. If so then I guess I always will be judgmental. I do now wonder whether this is healthy for me or not. I don’t see it changing. Thoughts?

Anyway, enough psychoanalyzing myself, I’ll save that for the professionals. I’m going to count down to Toronto. Two more days and Ed and I actually get to spend time together. He’s been working so much and so hard for so long it’s going to pleasant to be off the grid. Save for a few phone calls or Skype calls to my mother the following six days will be off the grid. I will however try to keep people posted through the blog and Facebook as Internet allows.

Comments
  1. matt lawrence says:

    I totally agree!

  2. Jacques says:

    Let me respond as someone who lives with a partner who believes (as perhaps you do) that it is his responsibility to point out peoples’ flaws to them so that they will improve themselves. I have yet to observe anyone expressing any gratitude to him and/or actually improving themselves. Instead, what I have observed is people (friends and family members) withdrawing from him, while he barely manages to avoid full blown depression. So I have to agree with your therapist.

  3. Damien Oz says:

    um – obesity???? And what %-age of us obese people do you believe have “done it to themselves and been let off the hook”?

    I’m genuinely curious.

Leave a Reply

